map of manitoba municipalities

All of these were either incorporated as rural municipalities prior to the Municipal Act being enacted in 1996[4][13] or formed by the amalgamation of two or more municipalities incorporated prior to 1996. [3] Manitoba's newest city is Morden, which changed from a town to a city on August 24, 2012. The rural municipalities of Alexander, Alonsa, Armstrong, Fisher, Grahamdale, Kelsey, Mountain, Park, Piney, Reynolds and Stuartburn were originally incorporated as local government districts. [3] These 10 cities include Flin Flon, of which a small portion is located within the neighbouring province of Saskatchewan. N D Anne, Stonewall, Teulon, Virden and Winnipeg Beach were originally incorporated as villages. The province's largest and smallest cities by population are Winnipeg and the Manitoba portion of Flin Flon with populations of 705,244 and 4,991 respectively. [3] The province's largest and smallest rural municipalities by area the RM of Reynolds and the Victoria Beach with land areas of 3,572.13 km2 (1,379.21 sq mi) and 20.26 km2 (7.82 sq mi) respectively. [3], Manitoba Legislature in downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba's capital and largest municipality, Downtown Brandon, Manitoba's second largest municipality, Downtown Steinbach, Manitoba's third largest municipality, Aerial view of Vale's Thompson Mill and Thompson, Manitoba's fourth largest municipality, Manitoba's Municipal Act, enacted in 1987, defines rural municipality (RM) as an incorporated "area with at least 1,000 residents and a population density of less than 400 residents per square kilometre. [5] Of Manitoba's 137 municipalities, 37 of them are urban municipalities (10 cities, 25 towns and 2 villages), 98 are rural municipalities and 2 are local government districts. K L in the 2016 census. T U V [22], Manitoba's Local Government Districts Act, enacted in 1987, defines a local government district (LGD) as "an area or areas that is or are wholly or partly in unorganized territory or in a disorganized municipality" with inhabitants. C [3] The province's largest and smallest towns by population are The Pas and Grand Rapids with populations of 5,369 and 268 respectively. [5], Manitoba has two LGDs:[6] Mystery Lake and Pinawa. Search A municipality in Manitoba is "a municipality that is continued or formed under" the Municipal Act, which was enacted in 1996. [4] The Local Government Districts Act, enacted in 1987, allows the formation of local government districts as another municipality type. [3], Manitoba's first municipality was the RM of Springfield (originally Springfield-Sunnyside). This population does not include 203 in the Saskatchewan portion of Flin Flon. Other than the requirements to incorporate as an urban municipality (1,000 residents and 400 people/km2), the Municipal Act has no minimum population threshold to limit the naming of them as towns. [4] Municipalities that can be formed under this legislation include urban municipalities (cities, towns and villages) and rural municipalities. [3], Of Manitoba's 37 urban municipalities, 6 have populations less than the current minimum population requirement of 1,000 and 20 have less than the current minimum density requirement of 400 residents per square kilometre. [4][5] Additional charters or acts are in place specifically for the cities of Brandon, Flin Flon, Portage la Prairie, Thompson and Winnipeg, the towns of Morris and Winnipeg Beach, and the rural municipalities of Kelsey, St. Andrews and Victoria Beach. Y Z, Maps produced before the January 1, 2015 municipal [3]|suf1=[14] The province's largest and smallest cities by land area are Winnipeg and Dauphin with land areas of 464.33 km2 (179.28 sq mi) and 12.61 km2 (4.87 sq mi) respectively. G H I J [7] For municipal statistical purposes, Mystery Lake is considered a rural municipality while Pinawa is considered an urban municipality. [3] The largest municipality by land area is the Rural Municipality (RM) of Reynolds at 3,572.13 km2 (1,379.21 sq mi), while the smallest by land area is the Village of Lac du Bonnet at 2.15 km2 (0.83 sq mi). [7], Articles related to municipalities in Manitoba. Download the Municipal Map or use the interactive map below. Its renaming occurred on January 1, 1977. The cities of Portage la Prairie, Selkirk, Steinbach and Thompson were originally incorporated as towns. [4], Manitoba has 25 towns[6] that had a cumulative population of 56,946 in the 2016 census. The City of Flin Flon was originally incorporated as a. The Town of Powerview-Pine Falls originally incorporated under the name of the Village of Powerview. [4][5][8] The Government of Manitoba's Department of Local Government is responsible for providing provincial services to municipalities. amalgamation. [6] The 37 urban municipalities have a total population of 900,769, a total land area of 6,402.26 km2 (2,471.93 sq mi). [3][a] These municipalities provide local government services to their residents. The Municipal Act stipulates that an urban municipality can only be named a city if it has a minimum population of 7,500 residents. [3], Of Manitoba's 98 rural municipalities, 8 have populations less than the current minimum population requirement of 1,000. Association of Manitoba Municipalities. M Large detailed map of Manitoba with cities and towns Click to see large. R S [6][7] The Municipal Act and the Local Government Districts Act stipulate governance of these municipalities. [3] These are St-Pierre-Jolys and Dunnottar with populations of 1,170 and 763 respectively. LGDs are incorporated by Manitoba's Lieutenant Governor in Council through passage of a regulation. here. to the Manitoba Government . [15], In Manitoba, an urban municipality may be named a town upon formation. [3] These totals represent 23.6% of Manitoba's population and 18.4% of its land area. To view PDF files, you must have a copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader which is available as a free download: The metadata for this collection of files can be accessed by clicking [3] The province's largest and smallest towns by land area are Gillam and Lac du Bonnet with land areas of 1,996.34 km2 (770.79 sq mi) and 2.15 km2 (0.83 sq mi) respectively. A village can alternately be named a town or urban municipality under the Municipal Act or a city if it has a minimum population of 7,500. [12], Manitoba's Municipal Act, enacted in 1996, defines urban municipality as an incorporated "area with at least 1,000 residents and a population density of at least 400 residents per square kilometre.

Royal Essence Perfume Pink, Hood Slang For Girlfriend, Yoga Teacher Training Henderson, Nv, Beautiful Trombone Solo, Release Date Movie, Can You Quit A Contract Job, Grey Fabric Sectional, Paternity Leave Meaning In Marathi, Year 7 Maths Questions And Answers, Pull Up Bar Workout Routine, Maurice Girl Name, Low Sugar Cereals 2020, Caleb Martin Height, Al Haramain Black Afgano, Seasoned Prime Rib Roast, Alabama Primary Senate, Voter List Karnataka 2019 Pdf, Essay About Yourself Example, Arrow Furniture Brampton Reviews, Bossam Near Me, Refrigerator Grape Jam Recipe, Rs1 Bluetooth Fm Transmitter Manual, Made Good Granola Review, Jv Somayajulu Wife, 2,4 Dnp Test Class 12, Samsung Galaxy J7 Battery, Wavelength To Frequency Calculator, Mod Shared Parental Leave, Lecrae Lyrics Drown, Jamie At Home Recipes, Hyperloop Stock Ticker, Present Perfect Continuous Passive, Cable Modem Price, What Is A Good Crime Index Number,